Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame

The Outstanding Achievement in Agriculture Award is the highest award given by Governor Stitt to honor distinguished Oklahoma agriculture producers. This prestigious award honors leaders in the agriculture industry who exemplify personal values, performance, and achievement.

Nominee’s should have high standards of conduct, leadership, innovation, and accomplishments in agriculture and should be a role model for Oklahoma agriculture’s young people. Each award winner is inducted into the Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame. A new honoree is announced each spring.

The Agriculture Hall of Fame is located at the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry.

2023 Agriculture Hall of Fame Inductee: Bob Howard

Bob Howard, a longtime southwest Oklahoma wheat, pasture, and cattle producer, was honored with the 2023 Governor Stitt’s Outstanding Achievement in Agriculture Award on April 11, 2023. Howard is the 26th inductee into the Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame.

Howard’s career was spent bettering Oklahoma’s agriculture industry through research and innovation. His partnership with OSU Extension resulted in improvements to wheat and pasture production systems still implemented today.

Over the years, numerous county, regional, and state projects were conducted on Howard’s farm. One long-term study led Howard to transition several of his fields to a no-till or minimum till operation, which helped control most of the erosion on the property. In 2013, Howard was given OSU’s prestigious Master Agronomist award.

Howard was a supporter of agriculture youth development programs. While he served as the FFA instructor at the Navajo School system for only four years, Howard spent a lifetime helping kids in both the FFA and 4-H programs by sharing his knowledge and providing support. Howard also served in several leadership roles for commodity groups including the Oklahoma Cattleman’s Association, the Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association, and the Jackson County Farm Bureau Board.

Howard and his wife, Renee, raised three children together: attorney Chrystle Howard (Kruska), Judge Ryan Howard, and Senator Brent Howard. Howard’s family continues to build on his legacy, positively impacting the greater Southwest Oklahoma area for years to come.