For more information:
Lee Benson, Public Information Officer

June 3, 2024

Bolen, Burtrum Reappointed to State Board of Agriculture

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma State Senate approved and confirmed the reappointment of Brent Bolen and Clay Burtrum as members of the State Board of Agriculture last Wednesday. Bolen and Burtrum have served on the State Board of Agriculture since 2020 following an appointment by Governor Kevin Stitt and confirmation by the Oklahoma Senate.

They will each serve a new four-year term.

“I’m very glad to know Brent Bolen and Clay Burtrum are set to serve another term on the State Board of Agriculture,” said Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture Blayne Arthur. “These gentlemen have represented the state exceptionally well and have brought a valuable perspective to the Board. I look forward to continuing our work to strengthen Oklahoma agriculture.”

Bolen, who resides in Idabel, represents southeast Oklahoma. He and his family are chicken, cattle, and hay producers in McCurtain County. Bolen is a strong advocate for Oklahoma producers and has served on the Oklahoma Agriculture Advisory Committee, Vice President of the McCurtain County Farm Bureau, and president of the Idabel School Board.

“It has definitely been an honor and a privilege to serve the agricultural industry in this capacity for the past four years thanks to Governor Kevin Stitt and Secretary of Agriculture Blayne Arthur,” said Bolen. “Serving as a board member has certainly opened my eyes to the inner workings of the agency and I’m constantly impressed by the staff’s dedication and commitment to agriculture. I’ll do my absolute best to continue to represent agriculture from my unique vantage point.”

Burtrum represents northeast Oklahoma and operates a cow/calf and beef stocker operation in Payne and Pawnee counties. He also co-owns a managerial accounting firm serving the needs of farmers, ranchers, and rural businesses. Burtrum has served as chairman of the Oklahoma Beef Council and has been a district director of the Oklahoma Cattlemen’s Association.

“I’m very passionate about all things agriculture and do my best to advocate for the industry,” said Burtrum. “It’s an honor and a privilege to continue to serve the northeast area of Oklahoma on the State Board of Agriculture.”

The Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry is governed by the State Board of Agriculture. The Board consists of five members appointed by the Governor with approval of the Oklahoma Senate.