Oklahoma has a rich agricultural history thanks to dedicated farmers. In 1998, the Governor’s Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture was created to recognize those who have helped lead the industry while demonstrating exemplary personal values and pursuing agricultural achievements in Oklahoma. The individual, by receiving the award, is inducted into the Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame.

The Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry (ODAFF) is accepting nominations through Feb. 22.

The award winner will be announced at a recognition ceremony on April 2, 2019, at the state Capitol as part of the state’s annual Oklahoma Ag Day celebration.

Examples of eligible agricultural enterprises for the Governor’s Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture nominees are: livestock and crop production, agribusiness, forestry, horticulture and nursery management. In addition to considering the nominee’s production agriculture involvement, the application also recognizes leadership in agricultural and state organizations as well as additional awards and honors. The winner will be someone with at least 25 years in agriculture who derives the bulk of his or her income from agriculture or has retired from an agricultural enterprise.

Previous award-winners have represented different areas of Oklahoma as well as a variety of agricultural groups and commodities. Past recipients have guided their families and communities to success by excelling as dairymen, cattle ranchers, pork producers, wheat farmers, conservationists and educators. Uniting previous Hall of Fame inductees is their service to their communities in addition to their contribution to the agricultural industry.

The Governor’s Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture is an opportunity to recognize those individuals who have made a positive and lasting impact on agriculture in our state.

The deadline for all nominations is 5 p.m., Feb. 22. The recipient will be selected by a committee of representatives from agricultural commodity organizations and farm and ranch organizations. Any questions regarding the nomination procedure or completion of the official nomination form can be directed to Jason Harvey at (405) 606-1477. The nomination forms and bios of previous recipients of the Governor’s Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture can be found at www.ag.ok.gov/odaff-halloffame.htm .

Previous award-winners of the Governor’s Outstanding Achievement Award in Agriculture

S.F. “Pamp” Howe-1998

Alvin “Buck” Clements-1999

George W. Stone-2000

Erwin R. Duerksen-2001

Henry Jo Von Tungeln-2002

Paul Jackson-2003

Ralph Chain-2004

Tom Gilliam-2005

Murray Williams-2006

L. E. Castle-2007

Paul Hitch-2008

Elmore Bathurst-2009

Lew Meibergen-2010

Wayne Krehbiel-2011

Jack Givens-2012

John Hughes-2013

Rodd Moesel-2014

Joe Mayer-2015

Dr. Clint Roush-2016 

Virgil Jurgensmeyer-2017

Keith Kisling-2018